broken hallelujah

I conducted Handel’s “Hallelujah Chorus” yesterday for the last time in what might be a very long time at the Brewster High School Winter Concert. My first 3 times conducting from atop an absurdly tall box (which was once painted like a Christmas present as a prop under the tree for Seven Star’s Nutcracker Ballet) were different from last night in that this year I invited members of Symphonic Strings and more band students than necessary to play in the orchestra ensemble.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 11.35.52 PM

After all, all the choirs sing together in this concert finale, and many alumni return to participate. The orchestra has a difficult time projecting up and over so many singing bodies (they’re behind this massive choir — and that’s my head poking out from the back), so my idea that “many hands make light work” when it came to the instrumental parts was a bit more effective and exciting.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 11.36.21 PM

I will be sad when next December rolls around and my baton has been passed to some other orchestra teacher, but I’m glad to be making memories to save.

Leave a Reply

